Kindness Counts!

Kindness

by Christy Semple, RScP

In my practice of mindfully noting the myriad ways that Truth Principles express in daily life, I recently enjoyed a wonderful example of the connectedness of life. It started out as I was driving to the celebration of my high school reunion. It was a beautiful late summer evening and as I drove over the bridge that crosses the great Ohio River, I noticed ripples from a passing small boat moving out across the river in all directions. In the moment, I savored the beauty of the scene, not realizing how the rippling-out effect of life would be brought to my attention in another way later that evening.

At the reunion, I enjoyed delightful and interesting conversations with old classmates that had come to celebrate from near and far. One visit stood out in particular. A girl that I had gone through school with told me that she always remembered my thoughtfulness and consideration of others, which I was touched by and grateful to hear. Then, she said that when raising her daughter, she would mention me as a nice example of someone who was kind and thoughtful and she would encourage her daughter to use similar kind words and deeds “like Christy” in her interactions.

I was deeply touched by my classmate’s  remembrances and the way she was inspired to pass along the examples of kindness she had learned from me back in our school years together. It was a beautiful reminder of the importance of my beingness in the word and a profound expression of how, the Oneness, our thoughts and actions ripple out in the world, touching and affecting one person, then another and another, even when we don’t realize it. It is a wonderful reminder that we can and do make an impact in the world, initiating those ripples out into the web of life. Yes, each of us can make a difference in the expansion of love, respect, and cooperation in our world. Thank you, God!

 

Leave a Reply

